sharepoinTony

@info – The practical side of SharePoint

Installing MOSS

Posted by sharepoinTony on September 25, 2009

I read Paul Swider’s blog post “Best Practice for User Accounts When Installing MOSS” today.  He is right on target, “there should be no surprises on install day”.  It is ironic that I read this blog today because I created a similar table to the one he has in his blog post earlier this week, to prepare for my SharePoint install this morning  (I installed MOSS, did basic configuration setting up a couple of web applications and SSP’s easily well before lunch).  Paul’s table was nicer, and I like his idea of phases which I thought of  in a similar way but couldn’t vocalize it as nicely as he did.

The point of this post is that he made me think a bit more about best practices, especially when installing MOSS.  Here are some off-the-cuff random thoughts I had on that topic:

  • Did you download any service packs or patches that you might need installed PRIOR to your SharePoint install?
  • If so, are they all in one easy to find folder, ready to go?
  • Where are your CD’s/DVD’s – do you need them?
  • Are you documenting your install in any way?  How?  Where?
  • Do you have a scheme for naming your web applications, ssp’s, content db’s?
  • What services are you going to configure?
  • What is your indicator that you have successfully installed MOSS?  When do you stop this task, and move on to the next?

I like to have these things mapped out, in my mind and documented.  The process of install and initial configure should be straight forward and easy.  Just make your own check-list, include the critical details, and follow the steps.  Write down what you do as you do it and you won’t have to hunt for a port number or database later.  Being a bit anal pays off sometimes…my install day today was kind of relaxing.  By the way, I had Thai for lunch.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
