sharepoinTony

@info – The practical side of SharePoint

SharePoint for Documentation

Posted by sharepoinTony on August 11, 2009

Recently read a Nice idea and article about using SharePoint for documentation. http://www.desklight.com/2009/08/innovative-green-approach-to-product.html
This is a focused PRODUCT article, but the concept is intriguing. Someone else out there may find it useful also.
I am not 100% sold on the idea that people want to read product documentation on their mobile device. Most won’t read it at all, and trying to sort through it all on such a small screen seems masochistic to me. I am old school and prefer reading most things on paper, especially product documentation. I may want to browse and skip over areas, possibly returning later, to see what is there. I like to find interesting details and skip the legally required jibberish.
That said, other documentation may be handy online. Even on mobile. For example what if you are moving about and could use some specifics that you already know are in a certain document. It would be nice to be able to pull up that documentation and jump to the known section for the details you want.
Generally speaking I like putting documentation online, and I like the concept promoted by this product. I think it will take some time for this to catch on, but I hope it does.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
